Hotel booking

Child 1 age

Child 2 age

Child 3 age

Child 1 age

Child 2 age

Child 3 age

Child 1 age

Child 2 age

Child 3 age

Child 1 age

Child 2 age

Child 3 age

You're entering riminireservation.it

 
Book your holidays
 
Home / Art and Culture

Art and Culture

Art and Culture - Ponte di Tiberio

Rimini, indeed the ancient Ariminum, is an art city with over 22 centuries of history.
Wandering around, the historic Rimini is beautiful. Every five minutes one has to stop when confronted with a roman monument or a Renaissance castle.

In order to get to know Rimini right from the beginning, that is the Roman Rimini, we begin with Arch of Augustus, the oldest of the surviving Roman arches. It stands in a strategic position (marking the end of the Via Flaminia) and was built by Emperor Augustus in 27 BC. Within a few metres there are two treasures of the Renaissance Rimini. The first, the Malatesta temple (1449), with the façade by Leon Battista Alberti. Few buildings express the complexity and charm of the Italian Renaissance culture like the Malatesta temple in Rimini, built by Prince Sigismondo Malatesta. With its magnificent white marble façade, designed by a master in the history of architecture, Leon Battista Alberti, the Malatesta temple houses a series of chapels and treasures: a Crucifix by Giotto, a fresco by Piero della Francesca and the precious bas-relief of angels playing on a blue background.

The second is Sismondo Castle, symbol of the power of the Malatestas authority in Rimini and today housing exhibitions. The residence-fortress of Sigismondo Pandolfo Malatesta, lord of Rimini from 1432 to 1468, combined the celebratory intent with defensive needs. Work began in 1437 and lasted for around 15 years, even though the residence was inhabited from 1446.

The walk continues to the Tiberius Bridge, one of the most remarkable Roman bridges, initiated by Augustus in 14 AD and completed by Tiberius in 21 AD. It still makes the link between the city and the suburb (Borgo San Giuliano) today. From here the consular roads begin, Emilia and Popilia, direct to the North. Via Emilia, traced in 187 BC by Emilio Lepido, connected Rimini and Piacenza; by taking via Popilia however, one reached Ravenna and continued on to Aquileia. The bridge, built in Istrian stone, asserts itself with architectural design, the grandeur of the structures and construction technique. It consists of five arches that rest on large pillars fitted with breakwater spurs and set obliquely in compliance with the axis of the bridge, in order to accommodate the current of the river, reducing the impact force, according to one of the most recognisable engineering strategies.

Do not miss a stop in Piazza Ferrari to visit the small Pompeii of Rimini: the archaeological site called the Surgeon’s House. The Surgeon’s House (second century AD) contains a unique archaeological find in the world’s richest surgical kit known to date. The house is a unique environment that has attracted the interest of scholars from around the world, it is a perfectly preserved doctor’s surgery. There was a fire, after a barbarian attack, which caused the walls of the room to fold inwards, essentially keeping the surgical instruments intact, just as they were used in the third century. Every detail has been preserved, the floor, the walls, the door hinges, the medicines, the desk, the hot water bottle in the shape of a foot and the bed for patients. The excavations of the house in Piazza Ferrari, Rimini, have brought many objects to light which, in addition to being an exceptional collection of surgical instruments, a refined picture in polychrome glass stands out (PINAX) that replicates a marine backdrop with three fish in vibrant colours, an exceptional find for the refinement of the technique, of which there are only three examples in the world (the other two in Corinth and Zliten in Libya). The panel is constructed with a variety of techniques: the glass mosaic, inlay and opus sectile. The new archaeological section of the adjacent City Museum houses the exception surgical instruments found in the House. Permanently displayed at the City Museum are the works of the Art Gallery, where one can admire paintings, sculptures and ceramics, tapestries and jewellery, the imposing fresco of the Last Judgment situated in the Sant’Agostino church, the masterpieces of the Rimini school of the fourteenth century, the refined Crucifix by Giovanni da Rimini and the previous polyptych by Giuliano da Rimini, ceramics and pots decorated with the Malatesta coat of arms and precious plates from the golden age of Malatesta commissioned to famous artists such as: Giovanni Bellini, Domenico Ghirlandaio, Agostino di Duccio, Pisanello and Matteo de' Pasti, Guido Cagnacci, Centino, Guercino and Simone Cantarini.

Area tematica: 
Last update date: 01/09/2016 - 16:37